Running, Let’s Try This Again

Let me start out by saying I am not a runner, nor have I ever been. My idea of running is sprinting around the house trying to find where I set my phone. That takes about 30 seconds, well 30 seconds of sprinting… okay okay. I sprint up the stairs, stop at the top to huff and puff, then walk the rest of the area looking for my phone. I don’t sprint, I jog, I don’t walk much faster than I have to. Some people say, “I’d only run if I was getting chased by a _________.” Nope not me. I don’t care if I’m getting chased by an evil tap dancing clown who throws bombs filled with tiny little attack spiders, I’m still not running. If that ever happens, I will figure that it’s the end of days and curl up in a ball and cry.

With that being said… I’m going to try running… again. You see I’ve tried this before. I tried for about a week to do Couch to 5K. It was hard, like really hard. Inset incredibly whiney voice here. Sure I have asthma, but the truth of the matter is that I’m incredibly out of shape. That could be one of the reasons my thighs are out of control, seriously, they look like the Stay-Puft Man’s legs from the Ghostbuster movie.

Something’s got to give. In exactly 1 month I’m lake bound for a long weekend the revolves around bikinis and sundresses. I’m already going to look a fool trying to ski, like running I also can’t ski, I don’t want to feel like a fool squeezed into a bikini again. I spent one weekend like that, I don’t want a replay. I won’t do it again. So I’m setting a goal, goals another thing I’m not good at, but that’s another post. Let’s set this goal.

My Goal: Lose 4 pounds by 7/12/14 AND Be abele to run 1 mile without stopping by 7/12/14

How I’m going to do this: Make better food to mouth choices. Follow running program. Don’t be a quitter.

The Running Program:

Week 1

  • Day 1: Run 1/16 mile, walk 3/16 mile – repeat 4 times
  • Day 2: Rest or cross-train
  • Day 3: Run 1/16 mile, walk 3/16 mile – repeat 4 times
  • Day 4: Rest
  • Day 5: Run 1/16 mile, walk 3/16 mile – repeat 4 times
  • Day 6: Rest or cross-train
  • Day 7: Rest

I’m going to start running today, even if I look like this.

Wish me luck…

Brooke

One thought on “Running, Let’s Try This Again

  1. That’s great, Brooke! This seems like a doable program. Especially the first week. The goal that you have set here is concrete and realistic. Four pounds in a month is really just a pound per week. Focus on making good choices when eating and you should be able to meet your goal.
    So, how’s it going since you started?

    http://www.girlinahotcity.com

Leave a Reply

